Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-04-2015, 10:52   #1

Boat: Hylas 49
need idiot-proof way of getting weather offshore

I need to get a forecast off the East coast of the US while offshore.

I have a Globalstar sat phone with data cable and Yachtboy 400 as well as an iPad and a PC running OpenCPN.

I've only tried the YB at home, and there is too much interference to get a clean signal for either voice or GRIB.

I'm considering a subscription with PredictWind.
While I'm technically proficient, I am not a computer programmer or professional.
Constructive recommendations would be appreciated!
TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2015, 11:40   #2

Boat: Cal 2-27
Re: need idiot-proof way of getting weather offshore

Look into the HF Fax app for your iPad. Wish I could be more constructive, but on a conference call at the moment.
Fog Bank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2015, 11:43   #3

Boat: 2001 Bavaria 37

Sorry not to have a good (idiot proof) response but have heard of folks using WeatherNet over Iridium. Marine Weather on Demand | NOAA Marine, GRIB, Buoy, Satellite Imagery | Ocens WeatherNet by Global Marine Networks Maybe it'll work over your GlobalStar satphone?
The YB400 is not something I'd want to rely on. If I were heading offshore I'd want a robust and full-featured SSB.
Jim Krause is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2015, 12:17   #4

Can you get email offshore with your sat phone? Then I suggest you try SailDocs which is a free service. You send them an email with a command that says what weather information you want (can be Grib files or NOAA text forecasts, images from web pages, etc). In a few minutes they sent you the files via email.

You can use ZyGrib on a PC to view the grib weather files (free as well).