Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-07-2006, 05:18   #1

Boat: Privilege 37
Yanmar 3YM30 Overheating

I have just seen the following post on a different forum and would like to bring it to your attention. The post refers to what has happened in UK, obviously I have no knowledge of other countries:

"Approximately the first 5,500 Yanmar 3YM30 diesels supplied to boatbuilders and fitted in Jeanneaus and US-type Hunters (amongst others) have an overheating problem, usually showing up only after about 100/150 hours running, and when the sea water temperature rises in summer. On my engine the overheating warning light/beeper was going off, and a check by an engineer with a temperature guage showed the engine was genuinely overheating, not just having an over-sensitive warning light sensor.

Yanmar and their distributors in the UK, EP Barrus, know of this problem, and are fixing it under warranty. However they are NOT warning users in advance of this known problem. They also appear not to be even telling their service dealers about this - the first my local dealer knew was when I told him - I found the first references to this on the web relating to US-marketed Jeanneaus.

Fortunately I found the problem on my engine (in a 2005 model Sun Odyssey 35 with 90 hours) before departing on a longish cruise, and it was fixed just before departure. I met up two days ago with another owner of a similar boat who had to delay his cruise west mid-holiday while the Weymouth Yanmar dealer got the parts and did the fix on his engine (at 125 hours).