Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-01-2016, 13:22   #1
GBB

Great Loop

Hello everyone,
I'm new to this forum. I am recently retired and have always had the dream of completing the Great Loop. I have limited experience and am now in the process of searching for the best boat for me to complete my goal. Right now i am interested in the Ranger Tugs. I would be interested from hearing from anyone who has completed the loop in one or a similar type boat.
thanks
GBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2016, 13:29   #2

Boat: Cape Dory 33
Re: Great Loop

There American Great Loop Cruisers Assn. has page on Facebook for loopers. You would get a lot of responses if you posted there.
https://www.facebook.com/AGLCA/?fref=ts
Old 22-01-2016, 13:52   #3

What questions do you have?
valhalla360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2016, 10:37   #4

Location: Quaker Hill, CT (just above the US Coast Guard Academy)
Boat: Silverton 34 Convertible

How to cruise America's Great Loop
AfterHoursNLCT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2016, 12:48   #5

I've seen a good number of people over plan such a "dream" trip, don't over do what boat to buy, its all inland and you need just enough to be comfortable, practice with it for a season and just GO! All the other info posted is good reference.
marlinmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2016, 13:05   #6

Boat: Camano Troll

Quote:
Originally Posted by marlinmike View Post
I've seen a good number of people over plan such a "dream" trip, don't over do what boat to buy, its all inland and you need just enough to be comfortable, practice with it for a season and just GO! All the other info posted is good reference.
It's not quite that simple. There are draft and air draft restrictions and they vary a bit depending on the route.