Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-08-2021, 18:29   #1

Toronto to halifax

Hi all,
I’m a rookie on this forum and am looking for some guidance. I’m buying a 30ft powerboat in Toronto but planning to relocate it to Newfoundland.
At the very early planning so far but just wondering if anyone could tell me roughly how long the trip should take and any pitfalls to avoid
Thanks
Muttthesecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2021, 18:46   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Murray 33-Chouette & Pape Steelmaid-44-Safara-both steel cutters
Re: Toronto to halifax

Thats a lot to ask.

Best piece of advice. Buy Cheryl Barr’s book “The Down East Circle Route”.

https://www.amazon.com/Down-East-Cir.../dp/0973165928

90% of what you want to know is in there.

We did the Erie Canal to Newfoundland a few years ago.

The biggest bit is getting across to NL. Then it is a matter of where on the Rock you are headed. Going North from Port Aux Basque there is a fairly long bit of coast with few harbors. Going East ditto.

It is all doable, with the right boat. Sailboats are generally much more capable, I have been caught out in 4 meter seas. You would want a pretty big motor boat for that.

Tell us more about your destination, make and model of boat, fuel consumption and tankage, your experience level, etc, etc.
hpeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2021, 19:25   #3

Thanks hpeer
30.5 Boston whaler with two 250 mercs
Only going to North Sydney or maybe port aux basques
While I have little personal experience we do have a master mariner with us
More wondering how long it’ll take us to get down the river and where to stop along the way
Muttthesecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2021, 05:45   #4

Here's two helpful threads from this Spring:

Sailing the St. Lawrence