Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Powered Boats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-07-2012, 22:19   #1

Total Newb, where can a boat like this go?

Although I have no experience at all on the water (taking courses soon), I'm seriously considering going full nomad and living on a boat next year.

Considering the insane housing costs in this city, and my ability to work from pretty much anywhere with an Internet connection, it seems like a great way to escape the 8 months per year of awful weather here in the NW, at half the price of buying a condo ("benchmark" apt here is $376,200 )

I'm looking at boats on Craigslist just for kicks, but I don't really know what I'm looking at. For a cruiser in the $100-150k range what can a boat like this do?

Bluewater 46' Coastal Cruiser

$157,900.00 - Bluewater 46' Coastal Cruiser
Make: Bluewater
Model: Offshore Cruiers
Year: 1993
Condition: Excellent
Category: Cruiser
Hull Type: Fiberglass
Horsepower: 350
Length: 46'
Sleeps: 6
Engine Type: Gas
Engine Size: 8 Cyl
Speed: Cruise: 18
Speed: Max: 24
Engine Hours: 670
Fuel Capacity: 350 Gal.
Water Capacity: 160 Gal.
LOA: 49' 7"
Beam: 14'
Draft: 1' 6"

(Not that I'm looking at this particular make/model, but seems to be fairly representative of boats in this class/price range)

Could this handle going up and down the West Coast? I'd love to winter in San Diego or Mexico or something, or eventually even go down through the Panama Canal and cruise around the Gulf of Mexico.

I'm pretty sure this can't handle crossing oceans (well duh, it's got "coastal cruiser" in the name) but like I said, I'm totally clueless