Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Powered Boats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-05-2022, 08:34   #1

Turbo Power Output Vs Engine Hp

Hi
I am just after buying a boat from overseas. It arrives here Saturday. One of the questions I asked the previous owner was what his top speed was. Anyhow I did not think it was great so start researching a turbo. The engine is a yanmar 4jh2ute. The engine is rated 73kw or around 95hp. On looking at the recommended turbo I noticed that it's max output is 77hp.
So I am confused how a turbo output of 77hp can be on a 95hp engine. I am not experienced enough to know how turbos are matched to engines but this seems strange to me.

Any member know why this may be or am I making an error in my thinking

Thanks
sliproad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2022, 11:17   #2

Location: La Ciudad de la Misión Didacus de Alcalá en Alta California, Virreinato de Nueva España
Boat: Cal 20
Re: Turbo Power Output Vs Engine Hp

Quote:
Originally Posted by sliproad View Post
Hi

I am just after buying a boat from overseas. It arrives here Saturday. One of the questions I asked the previous owner was what his top speed was. Anyhow I did not think it was great so start researching a turbo. The engine is a yanmar 4jh2ute. The engine is rated 73kw or around 95hp. On looking at the recommended turbo I noticed that it's max output is 77hp.

So I am confused how a turbo output of 77hp can be on a 95hp engine. I am not experienced enough to know how turbos are matched to engines but this seems strange to me.

Any member know why this may be or am I making an error in my thinking

Thanks

This site indicates the UTE was 99hp.