Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Training, Licensing & Certification
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2009, 12:00   #1

Careers in Boating - Ambitious Young Sailor with Lots of Questions

I have been boating for about 4 years now. I'm 23 and in school at USF for a mechanical engineering degree (one semester left). I started with a prindle catamaran and have worked up to racing on a j105 and cruising on my 24' bermuda rig sloop. Basically I really like being out on the water. I started reading about getting a captain's license a while ago mostly because I want to be a legit, responsible boater. Since then I have been keeping a personal log of all my days out on the water. My main question is this -
Can I merge my love for boats/engineering/sailing into a decent job? I'm getting married soon and want to eventually have kids so I can't really afford to make less than I would as an engineer. I would also prefer to have my family and I living somewhere in FL.

How feasible is this example of one of my Ideal/Theoretical Situations? and how would I get there?? - I'm the captain of a Carnival Cruise ship (homeport is tampa or miami). I make 6 figures. When I get back from a cruise I have time to spend with my family.

This doesn't need to be my exact situation, its just something I've thought about while out on the water sailing past a carnival cruise ship. I also don't want to give the impression that I believe in get rich quick schemes; I do understand that it would take a lot of work but I'm pretty ambitious,hard working, and intelligent. I've taken courses such as materials, mechanicals of solids, fluid dynamics, dynamics, statics, and programming concepts getting mostly A's (3.78 GPA).