Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Propellers & Drive Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2020, 18:33   #1

Boat: Gulfstar Sailmaster 47
47' Gulfstar 47 Sailmaster prop size

I have a 1979 Gulfstar Sailmaster 47 and am looking to replace my propeller. It came with a left hand 20x 16 3 blade with one and a half inch bore. A friend that had a sale master had a four blade prop. I was wondering if anybody else has any input on what they might have. My engine is a Perkins Sabre M135. Thanks for any response.
The Phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2020, 08:06   #2

Boat: None
Re: 47' Gulfstar 47 Sailmaster prop size

Call or e-mail a reputable propeller shop.
Tell them the displacement and water line length of the vessel.
Tell them the engine HP and maximum operating RPM and also the gear reduction and rotation and shaft size.
Tell them the maximum diameter propeller that will fit under the vessel.
They will recommend the correct propeller.
FPNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2020, 09:37   #3

Boat: Gulfstar Sailmaster 47

I'm on it. Thanks😁 I know prop sizing is dependent on lots of things but I was just curious what other owners of Gulfstar Sailmaster 47s had experienced. Thanks again for your response.
I have an Electroguard 208 corrosion protection on board and am wondering how effective it really is. Does anyone else have an opinion?
The Phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2020, 10:43   #4

Boat: Celestial 48

Quote:
Originally Posted by FPNC View Post
Call or e-mail a reputable propeller shop.
Tell them the displacement and water line length of the vessel.