Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-05-2016, 07:49   #1

Location: Eastern Caribbean for the 2020 season then east coast or Panama
Boat: Lagoon 470 cat
Danfoss compressor operating temp

Have two Indel Danfoss compresors running separate similiar size reefers. If I check the temperatures in the middle of the tops of the compressors I get temps of 108 F and 134 F. Which is the temp that is the correct one. Both cool the reefers, but I think one is probably more efficient.

Anyone know what the spec might be.

Used to know the correct temps at the inlet and outlet of the plates, but those have long since vanished into the abyss.
Moontide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2016, 08:41   #2

Boat: Yankee 30'
Re: Danfoss compressor operating temp

I am not an expert but recent successin with a Danfoss 35 fridge repair gives me the burning desire to offer an opinion. Perhaps I'll learn something. The difference may be due to slight variation in amount of Freon. The correct amount, according to sages, and it may vary with season, is simply just enough to make the whole evaporator plate frost over, but little or none of the return Freon line. I am guessing the one with slightly larger Freon charge will have a cooler compressor but will not be more efficient.
sv.antea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2016, 08:45   #3

Boat: Liberty 458

I have recently replaced a blocked evaporator on a keel cooled frigoboat BD50 system. I also installed a receiver dryer. Why they arent fitted as standard is one of lifes great mysteries.

We have an equivalent system in our freezer.

Richard Kollman indicates the compressors run hot and apparently that is not an issue. Unfortunately he does not define hot in terms of temp.