Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-06-2007, 17:01   #1

Boat: 15 foot Canoe
Flexible Impeller Pump Question

I think I know the answer but ------.

I have a Jabsco clutch pump which is engine driven off a pulley. If I use it for salt water washdown with a hose and shut off nozzle on the end (for anchor and chain cleaning especially), what happens when I shut off the water at the nozzle? Do the impeller vanes just bend a bit more and allow the pressure to dissipate? No problem? Or, does the pressure build and build until an internal plumbing pipe bursts?

I believe the impeller would just bend a bit more and release pressure but it certainly would be good to know before I really put it to the test.

Kind Regards,

JohnL
SkiprJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2007, 17:04   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: None at this time
Hmmm, be sure to let us know how it works out...<gr>
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2007, 17:57   #3

Wow, good question. Ever considered a pressure switch to cut power to the clutch?
never monday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2007, 21:25   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Hartley Tahitian 45ft. Leisure Lady
It doesn't work Pat. The clutch cycles in and out to fast. I guess if you had a decent size accumulator tank in line, the cycling would reduce.
I don't know the answer either. That's because rubber impellor pumps were designed to be shut off. A centrifugal pump is designed for that and is one reason why centrifugal pumps are used as washdown pumps. One thing I do know, you won't build enough pressure to burst a pipe of hose. But you may eventually break impellor blades.

For God so loved the world..........He didn't send a committee.
Alan Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote