Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Plumbing Systems and Fixtures
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2015, 13:19   #1

Boat: Valiant 40
Fridge compressor/ECM: Repair or replace?

OK I'm no refrigeration expert, so I'd like a little advice and guidance.

The compressor or ECM on my fridge has quit. Turning it on results in a short tone, the fan comes on, but the compressor does not. The tone repeats about every 20 seconds or so as long as the switch is on.

A fridge tech came and looked at it. He checked the voltage which he assumed would be the culprit and it was fine. He is maintaining that given the age of the components that I should replace the whole system, and that there are no current parts that are compatible with the evaporator plates that I have, which look very much like the current plates on the market. He suggested a Sea Frost BDxp system. My box is around 10 cf, perhaps a bit more. The Sea Frost would come with an external electronic display/control, which would be nice. All I have now is an internal mechanical thermostat. The Sea Frost also has stainless evaporator plates, which are marketed as an advantage, I suppose due to durability, but I would think that aluminum would be more efficient in terms of heat exchange.

However, I really am not looking forward to dropping $3,500 on a new system. Am I really looking at replacing it end to end? If so, any opinions on Sea Frost?

Thanks a bunch.

Suijin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 14:18   #2

Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore"
Re: Fridge compressor/ECM: Repair or replace?