Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-06-2020, 08:31   #1
er9
cruiser

Boat: 1980 (Canning) Mariner36
Holding tank location question?

I have a large locker in my head im considering moving my holding tank to. Its large enough i think i can squeeze in a 15-20 gal tank and get rid of the large tank in the v-berth.

If i do the inlet for the tank will be about two feet above the toilet discharge pipe and about the same distance above the waterline.

Will i be able to manually pump liquids and solids to that height? I have a Jabsco manual pump toilet.
er9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2020, 09:26   #2

Boat: Alden 50, Sarasota, Florida
Re: Holding tank location question?

Can you? Yes, it is possible. However, it isnt a good idea as the only thing which stands between the holding tank content and the interior of the boat is a valve which can often leak or fail catastrophically especially if it's higher than the head.
S/V Illusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2020, 09:39   #3

Above the waterline perfect spot. You can easy pump into it but best of all you can drain the tank via gravity.
No pumps to fail, no macerator to (pardon the pun) take a sh#t.
I have had mine in a location like this for 20 years, never a problem, no fails, catastrophic or otherwise.
I installed mine so I could close the valve directly off the tank and remove the tank full if needed. But it has never been needed.
Oh, and an absolutely awesome feature is when on a port tack I can open the valves so sea water pushes into then out of the tank. I can flush the tank, well for as long as I am on a port tack.
Like a cleanable holding tank? I do.
This post is for the OP, dont care to argue or deal with trolls.
Allied39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2020, 09:46   #4
er9
cruiser