Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Plumbing Systems and Fixtures
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-01-2017, 04:37   #1

I am having a problem with my fresh water system freshwater pump

I hhave been off the boat a few months when I returned the Water Systems seem to be working okay and then it started acting up. I have a fairly expensive jabsco duel pump and accumulator tank system. the problem is I have very low water flow and lots of air in the. I also noticed that when the pump is running it is pushing air back into the fresh water tank and the hot water heater. I have checked the piping from the fresh water tank to the pump and could not find any leaks.has anybody experience a similar problem.? there has been no changes to this system either electrical or Plumbing wise before this problem started
motion30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2017, 05:06   #2

Boat: JBW club 420, MFG Bandit, Snark
Re: I am having a problem with my fresh water system freshwater pump

Do you have any filters on your system? When I had similar symptoms, I had a small crack in the filter housing. It didn't leak, it sucked air in.
Old 26-01-2017, 05:34   #3

Boat: Krogen 42

The pump has a check valves that could be stuck
Old 26-01-2017, 05:38   #4

Boat: Privilege 435

When left idle for a while, the output side of the pump can fill with air, preventing the pump from pushing water where it belongs. Try opening the highest, or all of your taps and set the pump running. Once the water flows freely, close the taps and everything should work OK...hopefully.
Privilege is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2017, 08:50   #5