Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-12-2020, 18:32   #1
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 33-2 1988
Ice in the bilge? Sad story. Or not?

I am a newbie LOVING THE SAILING LIFE and hoping for gentle responses....

I swung by the boat this week and thankfully decided to go down below to check things out. To my surprise the bilge was FILLED with water (and a coat of ice on top) to within 1/8 inch of the sole. I spent 2+ hours clearing all the water and ice.....soaked jeans, frozen fingers and yes...some swear words.....all happily (?) to save my boat. But WTH ??? The whole time I was bailing I was wondering if it was in vain. Is this normal? Where did 5+ gallons of water come from? Did this happen last year but I just missed it? Am I going to post this and get laughed at? Does water always come in, freeze and melt? Am I a clueless sailor?

Sooo, cut to the chase. Did I mess up my bilge? What has been compromised? Does ice do damage to anything? What did I miss? And to those paying attention yes, I did post earlier (proudly) that my bilge was bone dry. Karma. Amiright?

"The cure for anything is saltwater - sweat, tears or the sea." Isak Dinesen
djousset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2020, 18:39   #2

Re: Ice in the bilge? Sad story. Or not?

D,

Was it salt or fresh water? Did you happen to taste it?

Sounds like you have some detective work to do. Somehow or other water got into the boat.

Unless it was frozen for a long time (as in, the entire Winter) there probably isn't any hull damage - but maybe boatpoker can weigh in. He'll have a more definitive answer for you.

Don't be too stressed. You dealt with it immediately, so that's great. Now you just have to figure out where it came from so you can prevent a reoccurrence.

Warmly,