Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Plumbing Systems and Fixtures
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-10-2017, 20:53   #1

Boat: Beneteau 473
Is There Such a Thing as a Quiet Shower Sump Pump?

I have a Bennie 473 with a Jabsco model 37202 2.8 GPM shower sump pump in each shower that are so loud that from the outside of the boat they sound like a small jack hammer is working inside. (well, I am exaggerating a bit...but they are very loud!) I can put up with almost anything, but it's driving my wife nuts. Which of course translates to now it must be driving me nuts too---right? (Now that I think about it the shower sump pump on my buddies Catalina 42 sounds loud too). Does anyone have any suggestions about either curing this noise, or know of a shower sump pump that runs as smooth and quiet as some of my old Sureflo water pumps I've used in the past? Thanks for any help...

Martin
s/v "Lucky Spin"
Beneteau 473
Wireless1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2017, 00:57   #2

Re: Is There Such a Thing as a Quiet Shower Sump Pump?

For shower sumps a jabsco water puppy works well. A flexible impeller pump, it's fine with hair and such, and is quiet and self priming.
billknny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2017, 01:10   #3

Boat: Amazon 49 cutter, custom steel boat built in Surrey, Canada

We have a different model Jabsco, a 50880. I would not say that it is loud at all.

In your boat, are the rubber mounting feet installed? They are there to insulate the pump base from whatever it is mounted on, and they reduce the sound transmission very substantially. Is it possible that those rubber pieces are missing?

Cheers!
Steve