Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-11-2020, 06:49   #1

Boat: Caliber 40 LRC
Remove calcium build up in head bowel

I have a Jabsco toilet with severe calcium and lime scale in the bowel. Many household chemical cleaners work well at home but I’m concerned about damage to the head hoses or holding tank (fiberglass). I could use a heavy hand with a pumice stone but the scale is very thick and I don’t want to damage the bowl. Any suggestions for cleaners that at least would loosen the build up so I wouldn’t have to scrub so vigorously with the pumice. I’ve tried vinegar- did nothing.
rmbriggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2020, 06:55   #2
cruiser

Re: Remove calcium build up in head bowel

Muriatic acid - available in paint section of hardware stores. Mixed to a concentration of 20 percent with fresh water. Always add the acid to the water not the water to the acid! Wear gloves and eye protection

Put in enough to fill bowl and lines (mine is 10 litres). Pump into system. Let sit one hour. Repeat the process again. Let sit one hour. Then completely flush with fresh water. Voila, you will have a head that works like new. Lines and bowl will be clean.
Knot Safety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2020, 08:37   #3
Writing Full-Time Since 2014

Boat: PDQ Altair, 32/34

If you want something a little more gentle and safer to work with, there are many grocery store and marine products based on citric or lactic acid that are FAR more effective than vinegar and less harmful to hoses and pump parts than vinegar. They are just as effective as HCl, just slower.

https://www.practical-sailor.com/boa...potty-overkill

Also CLR (Home Depot) is very good for lime (lactic acid).