Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-11-2013, 11:42   #1

Seal off hull fitting?

Hi everyone, I am very new to boats and just bought a 1963 Owens Express Cabin Cruiser. The forums here have been extremely helpful but now I have problem I cant figure out through research.

The original head was set up to draw seawater from a thru hull fitting directly underneath the bowl. All I can see is the hose coming out of the hull with a hose clamp around it. There is no seacock or lever or anything for shutting it open or closed. I installed a new head using all the old hoses and so far it is not pulling in seawater. Thats okay with me because soon I want to install a grey water tank and make it draw from that instead. However, I'm very nervous about this hull fitting and I want to seal it off completely so I can rest easy. Is there any way I can do this that doesn't involve hauling it out of the water?

Thanks for any help.
KitchenWench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 13:53   #2

Re: Seal off hull fitting?

There is a way of doing this in the water, but would most likely involve the sinking of your vessel and SCUBA diving.

It really all depends on if you find that preferable to hauling it out and doing it correctly.
MaryEllenCarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 14:07   #3

Boat: Swanson 42 & Kelly Peterson 44

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaryEllenCarter View Post
There is a way of doing this in the water, but would most likely involve the sinking of your vessel and SCUBA diving.

It really all depends on if you find that preferable to hauling it out and doing it correctly.
+1 to this.