Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Plumbing Systems and Fixtures
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-07-2024, 16:25   #1

Spectra water maker filters. Alternative to.

I'm new to watermakers. The new to me boat came with a Sepctra Newport MPC-5000. According to the PO the watermaker was pickled shortly after he purchased the boat about 4 yrs ago and has been laid up since.

I'm wanting to test run it but think it a good idea to change all the filters. I'm wondering if the Spectra specified filters are anything special. They appear to me to be garden variety water filters I could probably get at Home Deopt or such place.

Am I on the right track with this idea?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Spectra filters.png
Views:	19
Size:	363.8 KB
ID:	292472  
Portage_bay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2024, 17:00   #2

Re: Spectra water maker filters. Alternative to.

I can only report that we have run a 200T for six years, making nearly every drop of water we drink, wash with, or bathe in and have not ever purchased a filter element from Spectra. YMMV, at your own risk, etc. If it has been pickled for four years then it is older than that, and warranty may be ended anyway.

FWIW, Spectra says:

Quote:
High quality 2.5”x10” pleated polyester filter cartridge to ensure the best possible protection of the high pressure pump and membranes.
And it is pretty trivial to locate a pleated polyester filter element in that size, "high quality" of course being the question.
PippaB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2024, 17:12   #3

Thank you. Headed to Home Deopt and Ace Hardware. I'm sure I'll find what I need.