Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-09-2023, 16:24   #1

Dyneema to supplement standing rigging?

Mostly thinking out loud here and was curious if this is done or heard of being done to help prevent a dismasting offshore?

People now use Dyneema for standing rigging in place of cables due to its strength, but got me wondering...if you wanted the ultimate rigging strength to help prevent a dismasting, couldnt you just zip tie 1/4 or 5/16" dyneema rope to you stainless cable rigging and secure it to the mast and deck (robustly) to help add significant strength to the stainless rigging, if you were going offshore for extended periods and expected bad weather and knockdowns?

Im no engineer, but it seems like it would add minimal windage and weight ( if secured very well) for a hefty increase in rigging strength.

It would obviously take some engineering to get it hooked up correctly but does this sound like something that would be feasible for an offshore boat, or possibly cause more problems than it solves?

I've heard stories of people loosing their rig just from a lower shroud breaking. It seems if there was a dyneema rope attached to the shrouds to absorb the sudden loss of a shroud, it could buy enough time to save the rig in a worse case scenario, but again im no engineer so i dont know the technical numbers/stresses involved.

According to some charts, 5/16 dyneema has north of 13k pounds of breaking strength. In comparison, 5/16 stainless rigging is somewhere in the neighborhood of 8K. Thats similar to 1/4 Dyneema.

Thanks, im not thinking of buying a spool to start attaching to my shrouds, just curious about the feasability and to hear any opinions...
BAD ORCA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2023, 18:13   #2

Re: Dyneema to supplement standing rigging?