Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-12-2020, 19:28   #1

Boat: Paceship PY23
How many winch pawls engage? Wondering if I have the right ones.

I'm a novice rebuilding a single speed Barlow winch of unknown history. This one was missing one pawl and the washer compared to the same winch on the other side.

I matched the existing pawls to the Barient pawls available from Lewmar that I got are the appropriate ones because only one pawl engages at a time (see pic) and if I got the Harken pawls, which are shorter, both pawls "might" engage at the same time....thus the question, how many should engage? Seems that two engaging would be balanced.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20201222_142710739.jpg
Views:	227
Size:	350.2 KB
ID:	229257  
Andrew Vanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2020, 20:22   #2

Location: On Vessel WINGS, wherever there's an ocean, currently in Mexico
Boat: Serendipity 43
Send a message via AIM to wingssail Send a message via Skype™ to wingssail
Re: How many winch pawls engage? Wondering if I have the right ones.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Vanis View Post

I'm a novice rebuilding a single speed Barlow winch of unknown history. This one was missing one pawl and the washer compared to the same winch on the other side.