Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-06-2009, 17:46   #1

Boat: Marshall 22
Novice with Mainsail Questions

Hello.

I'm a novice sailor with a 1975 Cape Cod 25. I have a couple of questions about proper mainsail rigging.

First: the gooseneck on my boom slides up and down the mast track. I placed a track stop below the gooseneck, so that it is a little easier to raise the sail. I also placed one above the gooseneck and below the track opening, just because that seems prudent, but when I raise the sail, the top of the sail does not reach the top of the mast. It seems to me that maybe the gooseneck should sit above the track opening and not below it.

Now, I don't much like that idea, because I have bad images of the gooseneck coming out of the track. Even if I place a track stop below the gooseneck, I worry that it will eventually be knocked loose. So, for now, I have left the boom a bit low, and the sail does not reach the top of the mast.

Is this the right choice? Should I care whether the sail is hoisted as high as it can possible go?

Second question: I have a topping lift running from the mast to the end of the boom. One fellow I talked to prefers to leave the lift attached as he sails, for "safety's sake", and I think that's what the previous owner did, too. But when my sail is hoisted, it seems to me that I have too much slack in it, and that the topping lift is most likely to blame. I could either lower the boom by adjusting the topping lift or I could remove the topping lift each time I raise the sail. The former is easier, but the latter seems better to me (it's what I was taught in sailing school). What do you old salts think?

Thanks for any advice.
phiwum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 17:55   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36