Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-03-2008, 15:47   #1

Boat: Niagara 31
Rig tuning

Hi All,
I am going to attempt to tune the rigging on my Niagara 31. I have never done this before but have read a number of threads on this issue and have also read Ivar Dedekam's book (Sail & Rig Tuning). What I'm not sure about is if I start by loosening off and lubing all the rigging before starting to tune. This seems like the thing to do, but I have not seen this stated anywhere so I thought it best to ask. I am very open to any tid bits of wisdom anyone is willing to share. Thanks.
Gulfislander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2008, 16:27   #2

Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
First I have to ask why you are tuning the rig? Does it show signs of needing it or is this just something you want to do? I usually don't loosen anything for tuning but make adjustment as needed according to what the problem is. I have a hard and fast rule on our boat. If it ain't broke don't fix it!

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2008, 17:17   #3

When I bought the boat the previous owner told me the lower shrouds were loose and needed tightening. When out for a sail I noticed that the leeward shrouds were very loose. So I started do some reading. I was under the impression that if you are going to tune the rig you should do it all and in a sequence. If I can get away with just tightening the lower shrouds I would be very happy. But as stated I'm a newby at this and I don't want to screw anything up on my baby.
Old 19-03-2008, 17:22   #4

Bar tight on the caps then work up from the D's. Easy as pie.
Joli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2008, 17:29   #5