Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-05-2007, 20:49   #1

Boat: Cal 35'
Sail Repair Techniques/Recommendations?

Hi,

I am pretty new to sailing in general, but am trying to learn as much as possible re: a variety of sail topics, so I apologize if some of my questions are amateur.

My question is regarding sail repair. Last weekend, my boyfriend and I were sailing his San Juan 24 out on the lake where he keeps it. We had awesome winds, and for quite some time averaged about 7 knots.

We did a hard tack at one point and one of the battens tore right out of the pocket it was in. Upon inspection afterward, it appeared that the batten broke in half at some point and the new rough "ends" managed to tear the pocket right at about the middle point. The pocket also detatched from the sail and was flapping all about.

We went to West Marine to pick up special thread, but they didn't have any. We ended up using regular thread, and just hauled my sewing machine up on the boat, making sure to double enforce the stitches since it was regular thread, which actually worked beautifully. Plus it was a definite conversation starter to have the sewing machine out there on the dock!

What type/brand of thread would typically be the best to use for sail repairs though? We may at some point decide to redo it correctly, so just looking for ideas. Also would any of these threads work with a sewing machine? Hand stitching some of the bigger areas might prove to be more time consuming that I'd like it to be...
Melody1204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2007, 23:33   #2

Boat: Catalina 27
Good for you! I paid $100 to have a set of batten pockets repaired before I tried sewing them myself.