Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-06-2013, 13:19   #1
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Dix43 Pilothouse-alloy
Winch Choices

Hi All!
I'm in year 4 of building our alloy Dix43 PH and have finally come to the point where I must drop a load of cash on the winches. I already have 2 Harken Radial 40's for the mast...courtesy of ebay. The choices seem myriad, and the only only brand I have extensive experience with is Barient (on our Caliber), which apparently is no longer made.
So, the choices are ( in ascending price)
Lewmar EVO
Harken Radial
Andersen
Selden reversible
My mate really likes the idea of the Selden reversible but I've found no real-world commentary on their use or maintenance. Andersen seems to be the crown jewel, with Harken and Lewmar as standard quality. Their drums are aluminum, and whilst I'm a huge fan of alu, I'm wondering how it will hold up over the years and miles we hope to put on our little ship.
We need 1 size 40 for the mainsheet, 2 #46 for secondaries and 2 #52's for primaries. The Selden price would be 22% higher than the Harken/ Lewmar and 7% higher than Andersen.
I would very much appreciate any practical feedback on this dilemma-particularly do y'all think the reversible feature of the Selden is a useful gimmick and the alu vs stainless drum issue.
A link to my blog is available on my profile page.

Thanks
Brian
Brian Russell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 13:42   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: 1976 Sabre 28-2
Send a message via Yahoo to roverhi
Re: Winch Choices

We had good service from our Lesmar alloy winches. Aluminum is not as abuse resistant as chrome bronze but were still fine after 10 years in the tropics.