Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-12-2022, 18:10   #1

Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 31
X-Drive Sails with S-Glass

I am shopping around for new sails (main+genoa) for my 31’ Beneteau — mainly coastal use, no racing. My sailmaker included UK Sails “X-Drive S-Glass” among the various options, and I have no experience with that material / construction technique (other than reading a few brochures and watching a few videos).

I’d be interested in hearing thoughts / feedback from real-life users of this particular type of sails.

Thank you in advance, and fair winds.
Old 19-12-2022, 18:16   #2

Re: X-Drive Sails with S-Glass

No racing? Why would you even consider this?

You are being sold sails that are just not appropriate to your use. Find another sailmaker who knows the difference between cruising and racing, and is less interested in filling his pocket at your expense.
ItDepends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2022, 18:56   #3

Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 31

Quote:
Originally Posted by ItDepends View Post
No racing? Why would you even consider this?

You are being sold sails that are just not appropriate to your use. Find another sailmaker who knows the difference between cruising and racing, and is less interested in filling his pocket at your expense.

Thanks for the post. You sound rather tough on the sailmaker (and me [emoji846]).

As I wrote, this is just one of various options I have been presented with (the other options obviously include different types and cuts of Dacron).

I don’t know this particular material or technique and hoped that, by asking the members of this forum, something useful could be shared (and learned). I’m definitely an optimist [emoji6]

Fair winds.
Old 19-12-2022, 19:12   #4