Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Auxiliary Equipment & Dinghy
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Today, 12:21   #1

Boat: Farr 50 Pilothouse
Possibility of homebuilt plywood modern dinghy

I have no experience or expertise with building plywood boats, or building an wooden boats, or building any other type of boats, but I've seen some pretty incredible home built plywood boats online. As far as dinghies, the only wooden dinghies I've found are more traditionally styled sailing or rowing dinghies.

There's been a spate of pretty appealing modern hard dinghies in the last few years, the original being OC Tenders, followed up by ASTenders, and now UP Boats and Aspen Carbon Cats. Also a pretty cool looking aluminum tender from Godu boats.

The problem is that all of these come at a pretty hefty price, around twice the price of most aluminum RIBs.

Looking at the shape of most of them (the Aspen Carbon Cat might be too convoluted), it seems like a very similar boat could be built out of glass sheathed plywood. Obviously there would be a weight penalty, probably as much as twice the weight vs a carbon build, but I imagine that one could be built for less than a quarter the price.

I'm just curious what you guys think the viability of such a dinghy build would be, assuming someone could design some plans for one.
Muaddib1116 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:23   #2

Boat: Chris Craft 381 Catalina
Re: Possibility of homebuilt plywood modern dinghy