Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-05-2024, 11:15   #1

Design of No Anchor area

Hello!

I am an engineer designing a "no anchoring" area for some submerged erosion control gabion baskets. These are essentially large wire mesh baskets filled with rocks, and the holes in the mesh are large enough to catch anchor hooks. I have read a little about anchor dragging, and am wondering what would be a "safe" offset from the edge of the baskets to place our "no anchor" zone. Bear in mind that the boats may not be using the best quality anchors or proper technique. The boats are small sailing boats or similar sized craft.

I haven't been able to find good technical guidance or regulations to support this design, so any thoughts on this would be appreciated!
Minty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2024, 13:07   #2

Boat: Tartan 3800
Re: Design of No Anchor area

How deep is it? How close to shore? You may not need to do anything.
Old 29-05-2024, 14:01   #3

The baskets are 6 to 8 m deep (20-26 ft), extending from the shoreline out to 165 m (540 ft) from shore. There is a sailing club and public boat launch, with boats commonly anchored nearby. We need to define a "no anchoring" area as part of our government approval conditions, so the only missing piece is how far of an offset to make it from the edge of the baskets. I want to minimize risk of anchor fouling on the baskets, but I don't want to take up an excessive amount of space and cause undue inconvenience to other water users.

I am actually not 100% sure if there even is a risk of anchors catching on these. The mesh looks similar to chicken wire, except the holes are bigger (64 mm / 2.5").