Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-07-2008, 06:15   #1

Boat: Hunter 25
Mooring to a Piling

I'm new to sailing, so please forgive me if I'm not even using the correct terms, etc. I recently purchased a sailboat and it is going in the water this week. I recently found out that my 'mooring' at the marina will be a piling. The marina manager told me to 'just throw a rope over'. I'm concerned with a few things, the first being whether or not I will be smashed up against the piling, especially in tough weather. My second concern is if I do get a rope around the piling and tie it to the cleat on my bow, how do I retreive it when I come back in from sailing? Do I need to put a float on the end of it? Should I put TWO ropes around the piling in case one breaks? And I Have soo many more questions! Help!
Adcurium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2008, 06:27   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
WELCOME aboard, Adcurium.
Will you be mooring between two pilings, or to a single pile (dolphin) ?

Install an anti-chaffing sleeve over your mooring line.
Secure one end of mooring line to a cleat, loop rope over piling, and secure other end to cleat. Depart by undoing one end of line, and retrieving.

If mooring to a single dolphin, a stern anchor can be set, preventing your boat from riding up on the piling.

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2008, 07:01   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Now boatless :-(
I don't think I could say it any better than this...

So I won't - LOL

Sailtrain: Anchoring and mooring, Pile moorings.
Ex-Calif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2008, 07:03   #4