Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 4.86 average. Display Modes
Old 22-09-2015, 10:45   #1966

Boat: Cascade 36
Re: Photos of Anchors Setting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yeti View Post
This is at Smugglers Cove, Santa Cruz Island in California.

Sent from my ALCATEL ONE TOUCH Fierce using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
This is another anchor at the same location. I believe this is a Delta of unknown size (guessing 20kg?). This was in 35-40' with s fairly short scope. As you can see there's movement happening as the shot was taken. I can't say I'm an expert but it doesn't seem like there was enough effort taken in the initial set which happened before I arrived. Fairly soon after the shot was taken the owner seemed to have noticed and was trying to work on it. The boat was a newer 41' Hunter.
This picture probably isn't the best but it was pretty much at the extreme range of visibility and my limited freedive ability. I have tried my best to "touch it up" and get something useful out of it.

Sent from my ALCATEL ONE TOUCH Fierce using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1442943597765.jpg
Views:	186
Size:	97.8 KB
ID:	109600  
Yeti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2015, 12:08   #1967

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Bestevaer.

A new anchorage. 5m @ 3:1.

I made a couple of mistakes at this anchorage.

There was a large and very nice looking sand patch. Unfortunately, there were several other boats in the anchorage. To keep a reasonable distance from other boats meant dropping as close as possible to the edge of the sand.