Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-03-2021, 21:32   #1

Boat: Shannon 50 Ketch
Swivel - best way to use one

I've been using a CQR 65lb for 20 years. Finally decided its time to upgrade and bought a "next gen" anchor - I'm very excited about it. (I bought a Rocna Vulcan 33kg primarily due to bow-platform arrangement which prohibits using a roll-bar style anchor, and because the Spade cannot be easily re-galvanized).

So, I'm trying to decide what to do about a swivel to help ensure proper orientation and alignment when raising the anchor the last 3 feet. My old CQR with the hinged shank and a swivel shackle between the anchor and the chain, would auto-rotate to the correct position 95% of the time. The other 5% I would just bend down and rotate it into the proper position, then reel in the last few feet of chain to secure the anchor.

In my first attempts at the dock to lower and raise new anchor (using the same arrangement: anchor ->swivel -> chain) I find the anchor fails to auto-rotate into the right alignment 4 out of 4 attempts.

I came across an article somewhere (cant find it now) which basically said to insert a 2 or 3 link section of chain between the anchor and the swivel, so you would have anchor -> shackle -> 3-link-chain -> swivel shackle -> chain.

Thinking about this, I don't really see how this changes anything, but it sounds believable.

Has anyone actually tried this?

I've also seen ads for "banana swivel shackles" which claim to solve the same problem, I think. Do these work?