Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-06-2015, 17:57   #1

Boat: 34' Trawler
Cruising Guides to The Bahamas

I have been fishing the Abacos down to Chub Cay for over 20 years, owning three sport fishing boats from 35'-45'. I finally got to retire and am now going to go cruising throughout the Bahamas and live a simpler life.

I am seeking advice on cruising guides for the Bahamas. Most seem to be be divided into North, Central and South. Does anyone know of or recommend a comprehensive Bahamas Cruising Guide? if not, is there a particular author or publisher that does a good job?

I am looking for something similar to the Abacos Cruising Guide by Steve Dodge.

Thanks for any help.....this is my first post on this forum
Rick2192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2015, 19:52   #2

Boat: csy 37
Re: Cruising Guides to The Bahamas

Explorer Charts still the best, IMHO. The books by Steve Pavlidis make good reading but the information is a bit old now. The old standard, The Yachtsmans Guide To The Bahamas, is also good reading and pretty current, but I no longer use it for navigation.
onestepcsy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2015, 02:51   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF,Rick.

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2015, 04:28   #4

Boat: Solaris Sunstar 36' catamaran

Dodge's Abaco Guide, Pavilidis' guides to the rest of the Bahamas, and the Explorer Charts are what you need.
I quit using the Yachtsman's Guide years ago. The only updates in it were marina information in the ads.
Old 24-06-2015, 07:22   #5

Boat: Gemini 105Mc 34'