Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Navigation
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-06-2014, 16:42   #1

Boat: Islander Bahama 30
If I download the navionics do I need a chartplotter?

If I download the Navionics Gold app to my tablet do I really need to spend money on a chartplotter for my sailboat
investdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2014, 17:05   #2

Boat: Corbin Ketch 39ft
Re: If I download the navionics do I need a chartplotter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by investdr View Post
If I download the Navionics Gold app to my tablet do I really need to spend money on a chartplotter for my sailboat
I have been cruising for the last ten years from Panama to Malaysia using computer based navigation. I got navionics for android a year ago and am very impressed by it. It has more detail and in Palawan was more accurate than cm93. Updating as compared to chartplotter is easy, internet is built in to the tablet. I have seen several chart plotter users have to repurchase their chart library because of format change.
My samsung note 10.1 is used in the cockpit in the sun and I have kept it protected ftom rain. I still use the computer below for redundancy.
Jubilee39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2014, 17:08   #3

In a word NO. But depending on where you cruise, you might want something as a backup. It could be a second tablet, a laptop, or maybe a little chart plotter such as a Garmin 440.
Rick R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2014, 17:12   #4

Boat: Islander Bahama 30

I cruise the northern Chesapeake. Have extra laptops laying around as a backup I would guess.
investdr is offline   Reply With Quote