Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Navigation
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-08-2018, 07:48   #1

Nav station-sized chart book for Texas Gulf Coast?

Hello all,

I'm new to sailing (about a year now) and new to the forum. Having a great time taking ASA classes and chartering boats for the weekend out of Kemah as I learn. One thing that has me stumped is finding a good Nav-station sized chart book for the Texas Gulf Coast. I love the big NOAA maps for home review and planning, but would like something smaller (but still big enough to be useful) for Nav station use while on the boat. Most of the boats I charter have chart plotters... but I like to use paper maps as backup.

MapTech seems to offer ChartKit books that look perfect... but they don't have one that covers Texas. Anyone know of someone who does?

Thanks so much!

Chet
chetlenox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2018, 08:12   #2
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Re: Nav station-sized chart book for Texas Gulf Coast?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chetlenox View Post
Hello all,

I'm new to sailing (about a year now) and new to the forum. Having a great time taking ASA classes and chartering boats for the weekend out of Kemah as I learn. One thing that has me stumped is finding a good Nav-station sized chart book for the Texas Gulf Coast. I love the big NOAA maps for home review and planning, but would like something smaller (but still big enough to be useful) for Nav station use while on the boat. Most of the boats I charter have chart plotters... but I like to use paper maps as backup.