Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Navigation
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-08-2014, 21:46   #1

Newb q: thoughts 4 affordable comm/nav gadgets for sailing?

Hi all - im new to the idea of sailing and its left a childlike buzz inside so much that im trying to sell my 70's camaro to fund a boat. I have a friend who is experienced that can prob sail with me the first few weeks (i grew up on fishing boats so am well familiar with the majesty of the oceans!) - I might do some offshore/cross ocean sailing someday after ive fought thru a few storms and learnt some good survuval techniques -

Since im new - im curious as to what equipment you old sea dogs would recommend for say a trip from florida to caribbean..

ssb ham sounds like a sauce for a sandwich.. there are all kinds of gadgets these days - wondering if u chaps could break it down like say:

Navigation:
gps

Comms with nearby stations / boats:
ham (?)

Man over board:
blip-blip

that kind of thing - Im on a stringent budget and cant afford $4k hi tech radar systems. Id rather go buy 2 $300 gadgets from amazon.

Will garmin handheld GPS work ok with the right maps?? etc -

Thanks in advance!
fstarocka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2014, 22:15   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Islander 34
Re: Newb q: thoughts 4 affordable comm/nav gadgets for sailing?

For basic electronics on the cheap, I would use a tablet in a waterproof case as a chart plotter. I would get two or three, though a smart phone will work in a pinch. A VHF radio will be needed, could be hand held though mounted with external antenna will have more watts.