Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-05-2011, 15:38   #1

AIS

Hi, I am new in that forum.
Does anybody have experience with the AIS-1000 from westmarine? The price of 700 $ incl. antenna splitter seems to be ok.

yoyo41, in Australia on a Beneteau Coceanis 411.
yoyo41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2011, 16:24   #2

Boat: 2017 Leopard 40
Re: AIS

I have one -- it's a great unit. Go for it.
SailFastTri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2011, 19:06   #3

Boat: Island Yachts Peterson 34

I have one, with a dedicated antenna on my stern rail. You will need some sort of display system to go with it -- I like the Vesper WatchMate -- but if you got that route, why not get the WatchMate TX which has it's own transponder built in?
Catamount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2011, 20:02   #4

Location: Currently cruising the Philippines, just got back from PNG & Solomons
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking

I don't know the AIS-1000 but $700 seems a bit stiff. We started with a Receiver Only AIS (SR-161) for $200 in 2007 that worked well with our charting program. Last year we upgraded to a Camino-101 class B transciever with its own GPS, bought from Milltech Marine for $495, which we're very happy with.

Neither of these units has their own display, which is probably one reason they're so inexpensive. We use OpenCPN for that, as we like our high-resolution computer display (much higher than dedicated AIS displays) & we want to see the ships on our charts. We don't leave the computer on all the time, of course, but it wakes up pretty quickly if we see a ship we want CPA info on.