Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-01-2017, 06:55   #1

First boat

Hi everybody! I'm new to the whole boat life, but am very much looking forward to exploring the world at sea!
I have been looking a a few boats so far, but what I need now, is to know the procedure of the buy.

When I have bought the boat, how do I change owner ship, where do I check is the boat is owned by the seller, and what precautions should I make before sailing, so that the coast guard doesn't have anything to tag me on?

Hope you can help!
LasseHammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2017, 07:00   #2

Re: First boat

A couple questions that will help us answer yours. Where are you located?
What type of boat are you interested in?
hobopacket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2017, 07:09   #3

I'm in Florida, planning to sail the Caribbean, looking at sailboats around 34 feet.
Old 27-01-2017, 07:09   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38

Assuming more than an inexpensive trailer sailor or dinghy, these types of questions are what in my opinion a Buyers broker is for, not to be unkind, but to some extent you don't yet even know the questions to ask, and a good Broker knows the answers.
However for an inexpensive purchase, its not enough money for them to become involved
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2017, 07:21   #5

That's fair, the once I'm in contact with now, is not listed with brokers, so doubt they will lend a big hand..
Boat is around 10.000 dollar, for you that might be considered a small amount..
just trying to make sure I don't run in to any more problems than I have to..
Old 27-01-2017, 07:54   #6