Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Dollars & Cents
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2015, 09:21   #1

Florida resident - want to buy a boat in California

Can I just do a Coast Guard documentation and avoid the red tape of state registrations ? I want to sail down towards Panama and the Galapagos, soon after the purchase. I have been traveling world wide for a few years and have a 'sailing' address. I don't want to leave the Fl residency (no state income tax).
bari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 22:30   #2

Re: Florida resident - want to buy a boat in California

Quote:
Originally Posted by bari View Post
Can I just do a Coast Guard documentation and avoid the red tape of state registrations ? I want to sail down towards Panama and the Galapagos, soon after the purchase. I have been traveling world wide for a few years and have a 'sailing' address. I don't want to leave the Fl residency (no state income tax).
If you plan on having the boat in FL >90day (check this) you will need state registration.

Referencing past threads, registering in FL may also help you avoid CA seeking taxes on the boat if you are in CA for any length of time. (not trying to start an argument, just offering advice)
Andy73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 01:44   #3