Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Dollars & Cents
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2020, 02:00   #1

Getting ready to sail off. Need advice, tips, etc.

Wow, this is long, but I kept having more and more questions. Sorry!

I have been planning to circumnavigate for about 5 years now. I am looking for advice or tips on moving forward. This is obviously a big step. Kids are gone. I have my investments and full military retirement for income. I plan to finance with investments vice just paying cash (I have my reasons).
I have been sailing on and off for about 5 years.
Have lived aboard for a year on the Chesapeake Bay on my own 1988 C&C 30mkII.
I can fix just about everything, engines, ac, wiring, etc.
I have chartered a Lagoon 440 from Florida sailing to a couple close islands in the Bahamas and sailed back. What a good time even with crappy weather. dragging anchor, non-existent auto pilot, etc.
I have taken several ASA classes.
--------

Now, finally, I have my 20% or more down payment for a boat (2010-2013 Lagoon 450 or Helia 44) in the $300,000 - $370,000 price range. I’ve found several on the internet for sale, but have not visited any. I assume they all will need 20-40K to fix up.
It seems I will likely have to travel to the Med to buy one as they are more affordable there than the US and Bahama/Caribbean. I’m fine with buying there. It seems as though the US and island boats are about 50 to 80k more.
My plans are to fly to a boat show in France, the October 2020 Les Occasions du Multicoque (large only used only catamaran) boat show. IF I find one, then I can plan to do the following: