Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-05-2010, 10:14   #1

Boat: It’s in French Polynesia now
My Independence Day

Wellll,
yesterday I went and did it. I quit my job and I’m never going to work full time again. I’m 3 weeks away from my 60th BD and I don’t want to be working for someone else when that arrives.

At work they wanted to know why I was quitting, and I told them I needed to finish up the boat for the trip to the S. Pac. as well as detail up the house so I can get it on the market in another year and to sell off all the junk I’ve been collecting for 40 years, the wife’s too.

They think I’m nuts. Maybe so, but not as nuts as I would be staying around a high pressure job and trying to get stuff ready to go.

They said “Why don’t you hire someone to do the work and just keep working? So, I tells them “You pay me $30 an hour and you want me to hire someone for $60+ an hour to do work that I’m fully capable of doing myself, and then I would have to stay here another 40+ hours a week for who knows how long, plus the driving an hour each way, just to pay them off”. I loose $30 hr. vs. spend $60 hr. and I control the quality of work. And I'm not paying taxes on what I loose.

And, I don’t like getting up at 4:30 AM anymore. When I come home after work I fell like I’m going to fall a sleep on the freeway. I’ll never get cruising that way.

It seems my time has become more valuable then what employers are willing to pay. I either work and want longer to finish the boat and house or I quit and get them done and work part time or out of my garage (machine shop) until I qualify for the SS $. I have a nice little nest egg to work from and the wife wants to keep working until we make the final move even though she qualifies for SS next spring.