Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Dollars & Cents
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-07-2009, 15:06   #1

Sailing Yachts Cheaper in US?

I am new to sailing...but I was checking the prices..as I live in UK..it seems similar boats available in uk are much cheaper in usa.is this correct? or I have not done enought research.. also if I buy a 27 ft yatch is it large enough to sail it to uk in one piece..thanks
fardeenc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2009, 15:43   #2

Not a biggie, but the spelling is yacht
Sandero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2009, 15:48   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
First, do the research yourself. In the US it's Yachtworld.Com

OK, you have to consider the extra costs. You pay VAT when you get home. You pay to get over here and travel about maybe have some fun so those costs are sort of not that bad. You find the boat and suddenly the clock is ticking. Days are now expenses. You eventually close the deal And it might take a week or so since if you expect to sail it home you need a solid survey you might have to bet your life on. You'll need cash in the bank and the ability to set up a wire transfer.