Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Dollars & Cents
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-06-2022, 12:55   #1

Thoughts on live-aboard, only captain piloted

I'll start just by saying I have little boating experience by comparison to most here. I grew up in Florida with ski boats and rented house boats and I've had a 26 ft sailboat, but all in all, not much... I'm currently considering taking advantage of home selling prices and living a board for a couple years on a 55-60ft until housing cools down. Being on a mobile platform will also allow us to try out an island community or two we're thinking about moving to, without committing the same way a home would. After we buy a home, we would want to keep the boat long-term, or at least a replacement for it if it wasn't a good fit. Just looking at Marina cost and typical upkeep ( including bad years) and all other costs; everything seems like it can be estimated... Except insurance. I don't have an exact boat picked out so I can't run quotes, but assuming we're looking at something like a late 80s early 90s Viking 55, anybody have any thoughts on insurance cost or if I can even get it? I have no logged experience wouldn't claim any ability to captain it myself in anytime soon. The only time it goes out we would hire a captain. For a boat around 200-240k, would insurance run $3,000 $10, 000, $20,000 a year for an inexperienced (non operating) live aboard owner to start?
Zracin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2022, 14:36   #2

Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Re: Thoughts on live-aboard, only captain piloted

^^^^