Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Dollars & Cents
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2010, 11:09   #1

Boat: Windrose 18
Total Newbie Looking for First Boat - Help !

Hi All!
My wife and I want to learn to sail with the eventual goal of ending up with a live-aboard blue water cruiser in 3 or 4 years.

My first thought was to start out with an open day sailor, but my wife pointed out that this would not tell us whether or not she could sleep onboard. Another friend who is into full cabin powerboats suggested that I start out with an 18 or 20 foot pocket cruiser rather than be looking for another boat in a year. The more I thought about it the more sense it made.

I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions about what sort of boat would work for us? It will just be the two of us, so cabin size is more important than cockpit.I think we can set something up that will be comfortable enough for a few days.
We know next to nothing about sailing, so stability and ease of setup is more important than speed. Also it would need to be towable not just transportable. We have a Crown Vic with a V-8 so we should be able to tow a ton or so with no big issues.

I did run into a 1977 MFG 19 footer, fixed keel that looks good to me. Hasn't been sailed for past 8 years, stored inside, gel coat showed no cracks etc. Fresh water only. Overall looked like it had been taken very good care of.
Would this be worth considering or is it just too old? I did notice that most all the older swing keel boats have issues with the keel which was why I'm leaning tword a fixed keel boat.

Thanks in advance for your time,
Jeff
buddysattic is offline   Reply With Quote