Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-10-2021, 05:27   #1

Boat: looking
Gen

Good morning to all! Quick question. I'm new to the idea of a generator on board a cruising vessel. So when I purchase a sailboat I want a generator for many reasons but mainly for backup and ac. Living in Florida can be hot. Would this community recommend a portable generator vs marine gen. Cheaper. I understand the concerns of exhaust and possible fire but would like to bounce it off more experienced sailors. Ty for your remarks on this!
MikeO1122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2021, 05:50   #2

Location: La Ciudad de la Misión Didacus de Alcalá en Alta California, Virreinato de Nueva España
Boat: Cal 20
Re: Gen

Welcome.

I would suggest updating your profile with your general location and your boat make & model or “Looking” in the "Boat" category. This info shows up under your UserName in every post in the web view. Many questions are boat and/or location dependent and having these tidbits under your UserName saves answering those questions repeatedly. If you need help setting up your profile then click on this link: https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums...ml#post3308797

I would happily help more if the link above is not enough.
Adelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2021, 05:52   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Camper & Nicholson58 Ketch - ROXY Traverse City, Michigan No.668283

I’ve seen them in the Caribbean. Usually installed permanently in a sound isolation box.

If small enough they are carried onto the deck at anchor. Running an IC engine inside AND an AC is counterproductive.

One of our friends has big solar and two wind generators. He recently installed a new high efficiency AC and runs from his batteries.