Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Our Community
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-10-2021, 18:43   #1

Boat: Rebel 16, Oday Daysailer 2
New member and some of my rambling

Hello, hello! Forum newbie here and self-taught sailor. Instead of bombarding multiple people with the same history, I assume it would be simpler to talk about it in one spot (who am I kidding? I'll ramble about sailing to anyone who'll listen and reply).

Anywhoo, me first sailboat was a trusty 76' Compac 16. Never sailed before, never owned a boat before, never even operated a power boat(bleh, Smokers). Had to battle four inches of barnacles off the hull from sitting neglected at the slip, repaint the bottom, gut the floors in the cuddy cabin and rebuild them (better than original, I might add) but the mainsail was like new and the jib was fair. Came with a pretty decent genoa too. Took her out on the indian river in florida with nary a kicker(learned to sail without one. Who needs a motor except when the wind dies on you?) and the compac taught me the ups and downs. Sailed her without incident for 3ish years until we were forced to sell her for a move. Sold it for a profit over the original cost, though. Who says owning a boat has to be a money pit? Pft. Newbs. Need more viking in yer blood.