Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Our Community
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-07-2024, 03:25   #1

Picking the brain of seasoned sailors

Good day all,
I seeking some advice from some seasoned sailors, but first some background on myself. I am a union carpenter (relevancy: work that may have to be done to a boat), I am based in Ottawa Canada and I would like to sail from Canada to Trinidad & Tobago late this fall early winter, I would like to add this will be my first solo journey. My plan is to follow the coast of the US then cross over to the Bahamas and island hop to Trinidad. I anticipate the trip will take around 2 months +, in the process starting a youtube channel to document the journey. Now on to the picking of seasoned sailors brains.
I am currently looking for boats under 30 feet, and I am wondering the following;
1. Any advice on a boat I should be looking at?
2. Is $6000-$7000 too small of a budget for an under 30 foot boat?
3. Is comfort ratio, etc relevant?
4. Any advice regarding a cost I should be skeptical of, although I know I may have to install certain things like AIS, auto pilot etc?
5. Any advice of places to visit along the way as I have never made this journey?
6. Any advice for a first time solo sailor?

I apologize in advance if this thread or questions seem mundane. I welcome any feedback and thank you all for your time.

Gavin
GavinGonsalves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2024, 04:00   #2

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Jeanneau Sun Fast 40.3
Re: Picking the brain of seasoned sailors

Quote:
Originally Posted by GavinGonsalves View Post
Good day all,