Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Our Community
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-02-2024, 23:23   #1

Seattle to LA in March

Hi,

I'm absolute newbie, trying to hear the voice of advice.

I have an opportunity to join a trip on sailboat from Seattle to LA in March as a crew member. I never sailed before, but sailing is the thing I aways wanted to try, the item on my bucket list.

Reading this thread , not knowing much, I now have some concerns about the safety of such adventure.

The boat is Beneteau Oceanis 390.

So, my questions are:

1. Is it a right place to ask this question? If not, please advise where should I post it?
2. Do you think it's sound idea, or it's a crazy one, and I should look for another opportunity in different time of the year to fulfil my dream? The thread above says don't do it in the winter. Is March is still considered a winter in this context?
3. What questions should I ask the skipper?

I consider myself adventures, but I like calculated risk, not stupid kind of risk.

Thanks.
maxal1917 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2024, 12:55   #2

Boat: Island Packet 485, 52'
Re: Seattle to LA in March

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxal1917 View Post
Hi,

I'm absolute newbie, trying to hear the voice of advice.

I have an opportunity to join a trip on sailboat from Seattle to LA in March as a crew member. I never sailed before, but sailing is the thing I aways wanted to try, the item on my bucket list.

Reading this thread , not knowing much, I now have some concerns about the safety of such adventure.

The boat is Beneteau Oceanis 390.

So, my questions are:

1. Is it a right place to ask this question? If not, please advise where should I post it?