Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Our Community
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2019, 10:56   #1

Some guidance for a beginner

First of all thank you for creating and adding to this forum! I am new to the world of sailing. I'm actually still biding a little more time while my youngest finishes high school, but my thoughts are starting to turn from my landlocked state to creating a life of sailing and discovery. Maybe a few of you can indulge me with a few basic questions:?

1. What boat? I'm thinking a single hull sailboat around 40-45' so that I can be comfortable and host friends and family on occasion. That said, I'm intrigued by the possibility of a catamaran (not only for comfort, but what I perceive to be ease and safety.) HOWEVER, I wonder what the limitations are of a catamaran? Are they actually easier to sale? I don't mind that they are more money. it seems there is some substantial value there. What are the advantages of single hull v. catamaran?

2. Location. I'm thinking about starting out with 6 months-1 year in the Caribbean. I don't want to get in "over my head" figuratively or literally and so I'm hoping for somewhere warm and fun where I can get some good experience sort of cherry picking (at least at first) what days I'm sailing and building my comfort and skills as I go. Thoughts on that?

3. Are there any boatmakers any of you love and think I should focus my search on?

I appreciate any and all guidance and thoughts!!!
cruisinyogi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 11:15   #2
Writing Full-Time Since 2014

Boat: PDQ Altair, 32/34
Re: Some guidance for a beginner

1. Books. Read up on how-to, theory, adventures, and for the sake of reading itself. A few posts on the internet will never tell the full story. Books.