Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2019, 20:17   #1

Boat: Norman Cross 46
Arduino & Raspberry Pi cruisers projects?

I am a newbie with Arduino and Raspberry Pie but I believe that these 2 inexpensive technologies can offer great benefits to DIY cruisers ...

The first system I like to build is a multi-bilge alarm so any seawater leak, fresh water or fuel leaking from a tank .. any leak at all in any of our numerous bilges triggers an immediate alarm so we can deal with the situation very early .. before we hear or smell something ...

I searched the web and found several Arduino and Raspberry Pie techies group but I wonder if there is any group focused on useful projects for cruisers already existing online? I like to join such group if I hear about any!
We should all work together on similar projects benefiting from each other inputs

Other than running Open Cpn on teh Raspberry Pie, we can have tank level monitoring, engine monitoring, intruder alarms, energy monitoring and more
Old 10-04-2019, 20:23   #2

Boat: 73ŽULDB custom ketch
Re: Arduino & Raspberry Pi cruisers projects?

there are easier ways to to bilge alarms, but it would be a nice project. You could use a 4duino, already integrated with a small touch display.

Energy monitoring would be a great project. I haven't thought of that before. Maybe I will give it a go. I have a son who is good at coding;-)
MartinR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 21:24   #3

Boat: Nantucket Island 33