Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-07-2023, 14:07   #1

Chartplotter (Raymarine a125/E70235) died. Need help with repair or replacement

On my way home from the north channel last week, my chart plotter started acting up. Kind of flashing on the right hand side of the screen. Tried rebooting - no better. Then it just died. The screen went blank.

(Note to all - having a phone with navionics on it is a critical backup.)

I tried opening it up to see if there were any spiders or something and also to just re-seat all of the connectors. I've been building computers for the past 50 years and this is a typical first step with that kind of thing. However, no go.

So there are 2 paths open to me:

1. Get it fixed. Does anyone know where I can get service for old chart plotters in Ontario (near Owen Sound)? Any idea what typical repair costs are? Is it cheaper to just buy something new?

2. Buy something new. This may be the right approach as the chart plotter is somewhat old (looks like it was bought with the boat - 2002) and it might be better to put money into something new rather than old.

The issue with something new is that I don't really know much about how all of this stuff works. For instance, do all chart plotters talk over seatalk? Do they all have the same types of connectors or would I have to rewire my boat?

Are there any guides about how this stuff all connects together? First I need to start learning about things and I'm sure I'll have lots of questions as I work through this.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
davidkuehner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2023, 14:17   #2