Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-10-2020, 05:27   #1

Boat: Sea Ray 440 Aft Cabin
Docking cameras

Hi, I’m new to big boat piloting, and would appreciate any and all aids to help in docking and undocking. One thing I noticed is that from the bridge helm, I cannot see the sides of the boat or the swim deck.

Has anyone have success in using cameras for this purpose? I have WiFi on board, so I can use wireless cameras if they would provide good resolution and meet the piloting need, and not just technical “fluff”, if you know what I mean.

Thanks!
awsmits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2020, 05:35   #2

Boat: Tayana 47
Re: Docking cameras

How big and what type boat?
jtsailjt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2020, 05:44   #3

Boat: Hunter Marine 38

I see Sea Ray 440 aft cabin in his post.
sailormed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2020, 05:54   #4

Boat: ‘01 Catana 401

Better than cameras are headsets for crew (if crew is part of the picture). A good crew can supply you with distances and directions, such that they’re driving the boat through your hands.
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2020, 06:15   #5
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Fiberglas shattering 44' steel trawler

Consider the posibility of rear-view mirrors, at less cost and more reliability. I found that my view down the sides of the boat was limited and needed for docking and leaving. I put one flat and one convex mirror, of the truck variety, on each side of the wheelhouse, and that solved the problem.

I've been tempted to go the camera route for a view over the stern, not just for docking but for a general view when under way. I have not done it yet, and should you go that route I'd like to hear about your experiences.